About Dharmavijaya Foundation

The Dharmavijaya Foundation (DVF) which was established in 1977 and later incorporated by an Act of Parliament No. 62 of 1979 was the brainchild of late Venerable Aggamahapandita Madihe Pannasiha Maha Nayaka Thera. DVF is a non-profit organization relying mostly on donations of well-wishers and using those funds for the betterment of people in Sri Lanka.

The vision of the Dharmavijaya Foundation is to direct Sri Lankan society into a righteous path.

The mission of the Dharmavijaya Foundation is to encourage and help the people through DharmavijayaSamaja to achieve the vision.

The general objective of Dharmavijaya Foundation is to promote overall development of people, both spiritually and physically, with the application of Buddhist principles to social and economic development. Overall development is meant to be fourfold: economic, educational, health and moral.

Management of DVF:

Dharmavijaya Foundation is managed by a Board of Trustees comprising 30 members. Members are selected on the basis of their academic and professional background and their practical experience. At present there are members with Administrative, Academic, Medical, Engineering, Legal and Accounting backgrounds. The members work on a voluntary basis. The Board of Trustees meet on a weekly basis.


The Operation Strategy:

Some activities related to the four aspects namely economic, educational, health and moral are carried out by DVF with direct involvement of Board Members at Central level. When working with individual community level, the operation strategy of DVF is to reach the community through temples where the Head Monk plays a pivotal role. A Dharmavijaya Society is formed in each temple to take the responsibility of implementing activities and projects at community level. At present there are 440 Dharmavijaya Societies in 19 Districts.


Dharmavijaya Foundation: Board of Trustees - 2565 (2022)
Honorary Patrons
Ven. Hakmana Sumanasiri Thero
Senior student of Most Venerable Madihe Pannasiha Mahanayake Thero and Most Venerable Ampitiye Sri Rahula Nayaka Thero. rajakiya pandita Ven. Hakmana Sumanasiri Thero has been the Chief Patron of the Dharmavijaya Foundation since August 14, 2003.
Ven. Siri Vajiraramaye Gnanasiha Thero
Deshabandu Olcott Gunasekera, a founding member of the Dharmavijaya Foundation and its Chairman for 31 years, was a senior civil servant and later became a monk
Mr. Sumedha Amerasinghe
Chartered Accountant, Chairman, YMBA – Colombo, YMBA – Nawala, TreasurerMahaweli Cultural Foundation, JP
Vice Presidents
Mr. J.P.Kannangara
Superintending Engineer (Mechanical) , Health and Medical services government of Dubai (R), Mechanical Engineering - National Milk Board (R)
Dr. Nalin Gunasinghe
Eye Specialist
Mr. G. S. Arunashantha de Silva
Attorney at Law, Additional Secretary to the Ministry (SLAS)
Mr. H. B. Premarathne
Superintendent of Audits - Department of the State Auditor General (R)
Deputy Secretary
Mr. M.D.W. Ariyawansa
Former Chairman of Dharmavijaya Foundation, Additional Secretary to the President (R), Former Member of the Public Service Commission (SLPS 1)
Mr. N.G.B.Nanayakkara
Chartered Accountant
Deputy Treasurer
Mr. Karu Heenatigala
Former Deputy Treasurer - Dharmavijaya Foundation, Executive Banking Officer (R)
Internal Auditor
Ms. Kanthi Perera
Preschool teacher.
Mr. G.D. Cyril Gunapala
Former Chairman of Dharmavijaya Foundation, Secretary to Ministrys (R), Chairman of the Corporations (R), Adviser to the Former President (R), Diplomatic officer (R) (SLPS 1)
Dr. Yasa Siriwardena
Health Education and Community Health Specialist, Medical Director - Medi-Calls (Pvt) Ltd.
Mrs. Pushpa Karunaratne
Accountant, Musaeus College, Colombo 07 (R)
Mr. Premaratna Ilanperuma
Former Director General - Department of Technical Education Consultant Engineer (R), Member - National Hospitals Committee, Justice of the Trilingual, Shastra Bandu.
Mr. Bernard Kulathilaka
Civil Engineering (R), Former President - Alokaya Foundation
Mrs. Nedra Amarasinghe
Swimming Instructor
Mr. Sarath Amarakoon
Deputy General Manager Personnel and Management, Chief Management Officer - Editorial Board - Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited. CEO - Lakbima Newspapers Ltd. Executive Director - Media Sales Advertising Agency
Mr. Yasapala Nanayakkara
Secretary to the Ministry (R), Management Consultant
Mr. Sarath Dharmawardena
Assistant General Manager - Bank of Ceylon (R)
Prof. B.W.E. Wickramanayake
Professor - Asian Institute of Technology Thailand (R)
Mr. Lakshman Mahanama
Chairman, Peace and Compassionate Organization
Ms. G.A.C. Chithrangani
Mechanical Engineer, Colombo Municipal Council - Water Supply and Drainage Division
Mr. Champika Jayantha Ladduhetti
Dr. Nuwan Wimalana
Business Consultant, University External Lecturer, Company Director.
Ms. Chandika V. Ethugala
Additional Secretary to the Ministry (SLAS)
Mr. Isuru S. Tillakawardana
Group Chief HR Officer / Deputy General Manager - Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC

Dharmavijaya Foundation Lifetime Members:

Mr. S.D. Lliyanage Managing Director – United Motors Co.Ltd.(R), Managing Director – Lanka Tractors Company (R)
Ms. Karuna de Silva Company Director (R)
Mr. I.P Gunawardena Company Director (R)
Major General Jaliya Nammuny Major General, Sri Lanka Army (R)
Mr. Ranjith Soysa Company Director (R; Member – SPUR Organization,  Australia
Mr. Senaka Samarasinghe Working Director – Sri Lanka Environmental Professionals Association
Mr. Dinil Premaratne Former Secretary of Dharmavijaya Foundation, Company Director.